Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dark45  
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 18, 2023 11:22:23 AM(UTC)
Dark45

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)

Hey all, I hope you guys are well and are ready for the upcoming holidays.

I posted this over on Daz as well but figured I would post here since you guys always seem to have great information here. Thank you for that.

TLDR : How to take my anthro characters with Fur and Geo-grafts from Daz to Unreal?

I have some amount of experience in Unreal, Blender, and Daz but I have yet to try bridging all of my workings together into one project using Unreal so I could make an animated film in the engine.

So I am looking for some advise if you have some time and know a little about the subject. Here are my thoughts on how I would do this but in simple terms. Basically I'm wondering if I am on the right track on how I would do this.

1. - Create my characters, morphs, cloths, geografts (morphs of geo's will have to be merged with the G8 character I believe), fur, and hair inside of Daz Studio and Zbrush.

2. - Use the Daz to Unreal bridge to send my characters, geografts, morphs, and cloths over to unreal. Retarget my G8 characters.

3. - Use Diffeomorphic to send my fur and hair elements to blender. Convert them into Alembic format for groom hair. Export for Unreal.

4. - Parent the hair and fur elements to the Daz figures after they are groom hair.

5. - I have a motion capture setup using 5 apple devices and move.ai that I plan to utilize as well as possibly meta human's facial mocap for my performances within Unreal. The mocap data can be brought in and applied to the retargeted Daz figure... I believe.

I know that is a very simple run down but I'm trying to make sure I don't need to buy or do anything else before I dive into this. It's a small project but seems like a good leaning experience for me.

Thank you guys in advance for any advice or help in how to set up this pipeline.