2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
johnhuk2  
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 12:27:05 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times

Hey everyone,


I'm trying to use the Shaft Bondage prop on the G8M version of the Dicktator.  When I double click it to add it (with the gens selected!) DAZ simply crashes with an error.  I can add the shaft bondage without the gens selected and it loads fine, however once I attach it to the gens it deosn't fit right, and won't follow the bondage morph on the gens!


Any ideas as to what may be causing this, and how to remedy it?


This does not happen if I do the exact same thing with the G3M version of the Dicktator.


Thanks in advance :)


matt  
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 12:35:49 PM(UTC)
matt

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 292

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 36 post(s)

I just tried it and it loaded fine. Do you have multiple runtime folders? Is your entire DAZ library in the same folder? Sometimes that can be a problem. If everything is in the same place I'd try reinstalling it manually via drag and drop.

johnhuk2  
#3 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 12:39:40 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the response!

Yeah, I have a dedicated drive for my DAZ Runtime. It's allocated drive letter E:, and everything is in there. There is an unused (as far as I know) Runtime folder that the program created on installation on the C: drive, but I believe everything is set to use the E: drive.

Is it safe / a good idea to just delete the Runtime folder on the C: drive?
matt  
#4 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 1:29:35 PM(UTC)
matt

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 292

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 36 post(s)

Originally Posted by: johnhuk2 Go to Quoted Post


Is it safe / a good idea to just delete the Runtime folder on the C: drive?


That really depends on whether or not Studio ever looks for anything there. Does the C drive folder have any files in it? Is Studio set up to look for all of your files on your E drive? I did the same with mine, since my C drive is a small SSD that only contains operating system files. I have a 1TB secondary drive for file storage, and a 500GB tertiary drive that has Studio installed on it. It took some effort to get Studio to use the E drive runtime, since it installs with preset paths for C. If you've eliminated those paths to C and redirected everything to E, you should be fine with removing the folder.


johnhuk2  
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 1:33:48 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Hey, thanks again :)

I went ahead and deleted the C: Runtime drive. No change, DAZ still crashes if I try to apply the bondage cage with the gens selected! I'm thinking about uninstalling DAZ completely and reinstalling from fresh - is this overkill?
matt  
#6 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 1:45:21 PM(UTC)
matt

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 292

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 36 post(s)

I would first try to reinstall Dicktator. Open the zip and just drag and drop into the Library folder. Let it overwrite any duplicate files. If that doesn't work I'd wait for Meipe to weigh in.


johnhuk2  
#7 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 2:02:52 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Ok thanks, I will try that and report back!
johnhuk2  
#8 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 3:05:52 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Nope, I tried reinstalling the files manually (letting it overwrite the existing ones - the same result. DAZ Studio crashes out once I try to apply the shaft bondage with the gens selected :/

Really am at a dead end now - not sure what else to try apart from a full re installation of DAZ?
matt  
#9 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 3:44:51 PM(UTC)
matt

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 292

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 36 post(s)

Maybe send Meipe a message before you do that. To me it sounds like a file is not where it should be.


johnhuk2  
#10 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 4:19:18 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Ok thanks Matt, I will do that :)
johnhuk2  
#11 Posted : Sunday, January 14, 2018 4:56:26 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
This is the error log, after the most recent crash - does this mean anything to anybody?

2018-01-14 21:51:38.615 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.615 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.615 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.631 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.647 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.647 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.647 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.647 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.647 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: cHRM chunk does not match sRGB
2018-01-14 21:51:38.663 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.666 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.666 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.668 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.669 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2018-01-14 21:51:38.669 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: cHRM chunk does not match sRGB
2018-01-14 21:51:38.675 WARNING: libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
Meipe  
#12 Posted : Monday, January 15, 2018 3:45:26 AM(UTC)
Meipe

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 544

Thanks: 57 times
Was thanked: 162 time(s) in 120 post(s)
Hmm... puzzling, it's the first time such bug has been reported. It reminds me only of somes issues with DS 4.8-. The error log refers to an incorrect RGB profile in some .png files... nothing alarming. The bondage cage uses three .jpg files so it may be unrelated.

Are you using DS 4.10? Do you have crashes with cumshots as well?

Do you have a crash when you load the bondage cage as unparented in the scene and then fit it to the Dicktator gen in the parameters tab? I suppose if you fit it directly to G8M it doesn't crash?
Grafts for the Garden of Earthly Delights
Meipe  
#13 Posted : Monday, January 15, 2018 8:01:13 AM(UTC)
Meipe

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 544

Thanks: 57 times
Was thanked: 162 time(s) in 120 post(s)
Ok, I've been able to reproduce the bug. I'll post a fix soon!
Grafts for the Garden of Earthly Delights
johnhuk2  
#14 Posted : Monday, January 15, 2018 4:55:22 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times

Hi Meipe,

The crash only happens when I try to load the cage with the gens selected. If I load it independently it's fine - I can then attach the cage to the gens but it doesnt follow the bondage morph!

Cumshots are all fine - no problems there.

Glad you managed to find the bug - I look forward to the fix! :D
 


 


( EDIT:  Yes, I can confirm that I'm using DAZ Studio 4.10 )

Meipe  
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 16, 2018 9:06:00 AM(UTC)
Meipe

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 544

Thanks: 57 times
Was thanked: 162 time(s) in 120 post(s)
Here is the fix:

https://www.dropbox.com/...ck_G8M_Cage_Fix.zip?dl=0
Grafts for the Garden of Earthly Delights
thanks 1 user thanked Meipe for this useful post.
johnhuk2 on 1/18/2018(UTC)
johnhuk2  
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 16, 2018 6:56:43 PM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times

Originally Posted by: Meipe Go to Quoted Post


Hi Meipe,


That's great, thanks!  DAZ no longer crashes when I load the cage with the gens selected.


However!  I don't know if it's something I'm doing, but now the cage does not seem to fit the gens - either before (first pic) or after (second pic) the bondage morph is applied.  I've tried tweaking the settings in parameters but it never looks any good!


 


Pic 1: Cage applied, no bondage morph



Pic 2: Cage applied with bondage morph



Cumshots are fine, with the exception of Cum5, which is misaligned, but that's just a case of moving it manually, no biggie!


 


Not sure why the cage no longer fits though?  Sorry to be a complete nuisance :P  but I really do appreciate your time in looking into this issue!


 


 


Meipe  
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 2:46:38 AM(UTC)
Meipe

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 544

Thanks: 57 times
Was thanked: 162 time(s) in 120 post(s)

Strange... hum. The issue happens only when the gen is heavily morphed? Can you check if the gen and cage bones are properly aligned?


Meipe attached the following image(s):
bones_cage.JPG
bones_dck.JPG
Grafts for the Garden of Earthly Delights
johnhuk2  
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 6:36:41 AM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
I'm not sure how I view the bones?

I've flicked through all the different views (wireframe etc) but don't see what you're showing above?
Meipe  
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:00:33 AM(UTC)
Meipe

Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 9/15/2012(UTC)
Posts: 544

Thanks: 57 times
Was thanked: 162 time(s) in 120 post(s)
Tools setting tab->joint editor
Grafts for the Garden of Earthly Delights
johnhuk2  
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 1, 2018 4:30:21 AM(UTC)
johnhuk2

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Hi, sorry for the late reply. I've been out of the office for a couple weeks.

I have checked out the tools you mentioned, and everything appears to be aligned, bone wise. Furthermore, the cage only seems to go awry when you are using the scaling tools - but like I said, bones seem aligned even when the cage does not. If I simply attach the cage to a default sized dicktator, the fit it fine.

Thanks again
Users browsing this topic
Guest
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error